Friends, Fredericksburg & Famous Places – Our Trip to Washington D.C.

Friends, Fredericksburg & Famous Places – Our Trip to Washington D.C.

I had every intent on blogging throughout our recent trip to Washington D.C. and the Fredericksburg area but I couldn’t quite bring myself to spend even a moment behind a computer when there were so many people to visit with. Thus, I am snagging a page from my husband’s playbook and posting seven fun moments from our seven trip.

Barrel & Bushel

Our flight landed just after 4 p.m. and the first thing we did after getting the rental car was grab dinner at Barrel & Bushel. The food was delicious and the ambiance was great but what made it truly special was the company. Two of my former colleagues were in town and our trips overlapped by less than 12 hours. It was so wonderful to see them again!

If you’re ever in D.C. you should stop there for dinner. We had the GEM Lettuce Cups, Crab & Avocado Toasts, and Hot Fried Chicken Sliders as appetizers. Luke ordered the Bone-in Rib Eye and I enjoyed the Amber Maple Salmon for our main dishes. (Don’t judge, we were hungry and I’d order it all again.)

 

Fredericksburg Battlefield

We spent the first part of our trip with friends in Fredericksburg and decided to spend a day exploring the history in that area. Our plan was to wander around the Fredericksburg Battlefield on our own but we happened to arrive just as a complimentary tour was commencing. I am so glad we did! We learned so much about this devastating battle which took place in December 1862. Now I want to go read every book I can find on our country’s rich history.

After the tour we walked over to the cemetery where over 15,300 men are buried. Of those men, only 3,000 of the graves contain names. The rest are labeled with merely a number.

 

Mount Vernon

Luke & I planned on visiting Arlington National Cemetery and Mount Vernon on the same day but we quickly discovered I-95 traffic plus a 5-month-old equals a recipe for disaster. We opted for Mount Vernon and spent the afternoon exploring the grounds. As we rounded the corner to the mansion a flood of déjà vu washed over me. I’d been there before! I suddenly remembered visiting with my cousin and grandmother when I was 16 years old.

If you are planning a trip, pack a lunch and check for cheaper tickets online. Otherwise they are $20 at the door.

 

Time with Friends

While there are so many things to do in Washington D.C., we knew this trip was more about seeing people than places. Saturday night we gathered with nearly 50 people we shared life with in Hawaii. We enjoyed dinner, worship, sweet conversations, and a very late game of Acquire. My only complaint was the time went by way too fast and we once again had to say goodbye. To see more photos from this wonderful time together, check out my post Like Yesterday.

 

Lincoln Memorial

We had two days planned for sightseeing in D.C. and both of them just happened to be unbearably hot and humid. While Luke and I probably would have toughed it out, Olivia wasn’t having it and we had to shorten our list of places to see. At the top of the list was the Lincoln Memorial and I am so thankful we made it there before spending the rest of the afternoon hiding in our air-conditioned hotel room. To make it even better, two of my closest friends happened to be visiting at the same time!

 

Washington Nationals Baseball Game

Luke & I love baseball and we try to catch a game any time we can. This game was especially fun because it was the first time Olivia joined us! And tip for moms, there is an air-conditioned Lansinoh Nursing Lounge adjacent to Section 223 which is a life-saver on hot game days.

 

The Smithsonian Institution

pof_bThe Smithsonian Institution is the world’s largest museum, education, and research complex. You could spend weeks (if not months!) exploring all it has to offer. And the best part? Nearly everything is free!

Luke and I visited the Smithsonian National Museum of American History and spent the majority of our two and a half hours in The Price of Freedom: Americans at War exhibit. The exhibit covers everything from the French and Indian Wars to our present conflict in Iraq. I cannot explain the feelings I had as I walked through the War in Afghanistan and Iraq displays. I think of museums as things which give us a glimpse of the past. The War in Afghanistan and Iraq have happened in my lifetime. They aren’t the past. It’s our life. It has shaped who I am as an individual and directly affected so many people I know and love.

 

 

Leave a Reply

