A Season For Everything

A Season For Everything

Olivia is four and a half months old and my life looks so very different than before. From Hawaii to Idaho, TV appearances and fashion events to MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) and play dates, being one of the leaders in bible study to the new girl at church, stilettos to strollers. (Nevermind, I still wear stilettos.) I was talking to someone the other day and she summed it up perfectly when she said, “The only things which haven’t changed in your life are Jesus and your husband. And even your husband is gone [traveling for work] more than he used to be.” Sometimes I struggle with the changes. I wouldn’t be human if I didn’t. I also know there is a season for everything (Hello, Ecclesiastes!) and I certainly don’t want to waste the one I am in. I know God is teaching me wonderful things and before I know it, the next season will be here and I’ll be looking longingly back on this one

The only things which haven’t changed in your life are Jesus and your husband. And even your husband is gone more than he used to be.

A few days ago I was feeling a little less-than-content with life as it is. But at just the right time my sister-in-law sent me a blog post by Amy Webb titled 6 Ways to Thrive in the Early Years as a Stay-at-Home Mom. While I would encourage you to read the whole article, two of her points really registered with me:

  1. Know that it’s okay to mourn your former identity

In many ways I felt like I couldn’t do this, that if I admitted missing the things I had before it meant I wasn’t happy with what I have now. And that isn’t the case! I love Olivia and treasure this time with her. I also know there will be a season when I am back at work and that will bring its own challenges. And then there’s Hawaii. I finally realized I can both miss Hawaii and still truly enjoy Idaho.

  1. Include your child in activities you enjoy.

I immediately thought of blogging when I saw this. I’ve hesitated to write anything “mommy-ish” because I didn’t want this to become a mommy blog. And don’t worry, it won’t. But I have decided to start incorporating more things about Olivia in addition to the things I wrote about before. So there will be a mix of mommy, fashion, food and travel. In fact, we leave for Washington D.C. tomorrow! Did you know there is an International Spy Museum? So excited!

Life may have changed quite a bit, but change isn’t a bad thing. Each day Olivia teaches me something new and it is both humbling and encouraging, although not always at the same time. Despite the frustrating days (please take a nap, child!), the good definitely outweighs the bad and I am looking forward to seeing the things God has in store.

Leave a Reply

