Looks Aren’t Everything

Looks Aren’t Everything

See that beautiful strawberry rhubarb pie picture at the top of this post? I got that from the internet. Mine does not look like that. In fact, it looks more like I threw it on the ground and then put it back in the pan. Don’t believe me? A picture is worth a thousand words and there is a very sad one below. In my defense, it does still taste amazing. It’s a good thing looks aren’t everything.

I’d received a ton of fresh rhubarb from a friend (thanks Melody!) and decided to make a strawberry rhubarb pie. Having never made one before I figured I better find a recipe online. I actually found two different recipes and blended them together. If it hadn’t been for my lack of patience in waiting for the crust to defrost it would have probably looked much better. But when the crust is already in pieces before you even get it on the pie you know you’re in trouble. But like I said, I’d give it a 10 on taste! If you want my final recipe you can find it on my Plan To Eat or just take a peak below. I used a dairy-free, store-bought crust but I also have a recipe for a dairy-free crust if you’re feeling extra ambitious!

img_6387

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of fresh rhubarb, chopped
  • 1 cup of strawberries, sliced
  • 1/3 cup of granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup of cornstarch
  • 1 TB of lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp of cinnamon
  • 2 pie crusts, for bottom and top

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. In a bowl, combine rhubarb, strawberries, sugar, cornstarch, lemon juice and cinnamon. Heap into one pie crust.
  3. Cover with top crust.
  4. Place pie on lowest rack in oven.
  5. Bake for 15 minutes at 425 degrees.
  6. Reduce oven temperature to 375 degrees and continue baking for 50 minutes.
  7. Serve warm or cold.

 

One thought on “Looks Aren’t Everything

  1. Right, the surface may not implicate the taste, which I agree. However, it isn’t main blog pic presentable, you did a great job for your first attempt in blending two ingredients together for the pie. Great work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

