Riddle Me This! 

Riddle Me This! 

I’m not sure if it’s the number of Nancy Drew novels I read as a child or my passion for solving things, but I’ve always wanted to be a detective. Last night I was able to live out this dream at Escape This Live, one of Boise’s versions of the current escape room trend.

If you’re not familiar with escape rooms, they are a physical adventure game in which players solve a series of puzzles using clues, hints, and strategy to break out of a locked room. This particular escape game was pirate-themed and involved several different types of padlocks, keys, and puzzles. I went with seven other ladies and we worked together like a well-oiled machine. We escaped with the second best time in the history of the room! Needless to say, it was a blast. The cost to play is $30 per person, but we found a Groupon which brought the admission down to $17.25.

I don’t want to give away any of the details of the room, but I will say I expected there to be more riddles or puzzles that required some depth of knowledge. Also, it seemed that once a clue was used to solve something its purpose was exhausted. It would have been fun to have a few items come back into play. But all things considered, it was a total blast and I’m looking forward to doing another. Rumor has it there’s a wizard-themed room opening soon!

Leave a Reply

