Thai Noodle Soup

Thai Noodle Soup

Did you know the average family eats the same 7 to 10 meals for dinner? Think about it. You can probably list off the key dishes you ate for dinner as a child. Of course there were always the special meals that appeared on the table here and there, but in general you probably have around 7 to 10 on your list. And who can blame our parents? It’s not as if they had Pinterest, AllRecipes.com, or my all-time-favorite, Plan To Eat, as resources.

Before Plan To Eat, Luke and I definitely ate the same 10ish meals. While I could easily scour the internet for new recipes and had several cookbooks at my disposal, I hated the effort of trying new dishes. The agony of buying all the ingredients and making the dish only to discover we didn’t like it just seemed overwhelming. And then one day, while he was eating lunch, his coworker nonchalantly commented, “Oh, chili again?” That was it. I was not going to be the wife who sent my husband to work with chili (albeit homemade), once a week. I needed to branch out.

Thanks to Plan to Eat, not only is grocery shopping way easier, but we also have an abundance of meals to choose from. I can go an entire month (longer if I wanted!) without repeating meals. I also make it a point to try one new recipe a month and thanks to Plan to Eat, I can find said recipe from a friend versus randomly choosing something I find online. I figure if my friends make it then it must be good. So far this theory has a nearly flawless success rate.

This week I tried a Thai Noodle Soup and it was delicious! The original recipe (and my header photo!) can be found at FeastingAtHome.com or you can use my adjusted recipe below.

Ingredients

  • 4 oz of rice noodles
  • 2 TB of coconut or olive oil
  • 1 red bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1 shallot, diced
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 bunches of bok choy, separated
  • 1/2 TB of ground ginger
  • 2 TB of curry powder
  • 1 can of coconut milk
  • 3 cups of chicken broth
  • 2 TB of soy sauce
  • 1-2 TB of chili garlic sauce
  • 2 1/2 TB of sugar
  • 8 oz of shrimp
  • Juice from 1 lime

Directions

  1. Cook noodles according to package instructions and set aside.
  2. In a medium pot, heat oil over medium heat.
  3. Add shallot, garlic and bell pepper. Saute until fragrant and golden, about 3 minutes. Add bok choy, ground ginger and curry powder. Fry for 1-2 minutes.
  4. Add coconut milk and chicken broth and bring to a simmer, stirring. Once simmering, add the soy sauce, chili garlic sauce and sugar.
  5. Add the shrimp and gently simmer until cooked. Squeeze in the juice from half of the lime. Taste and add the other half if needed.
  6. Divide noodles into bowls and ladle soup over top. Serve with rice or toasted tortillas, if desired.
  7. Store leftovers in the fridge, keeping the noodles separate.
One thought on “Thai Noodle Soup

Leave a Reply

