Kiss Me, I’m Irish-ish

Kiss Me, I’m Irish-ish

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! I hope you are wearing green. As I prepared to write this blog post I came to the stark realization that I didn’t actually know much about the holiday. Insert Google search. Did you know St. Patrick’s Day is actually a day honoring the death of one of Ireland’s patron saints who shared Christianity in Ireland in the fifth century? I had no idea. I mean, I assumed it had something to do with a saint named Patrick and obviously knew it originated in Ireland but that represented the extent of my knowledge. And the shamrock, probably the most prominent image associated with the holiday, actually symbolizes the Holy Trinity: God the Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

I am sure I don’t have to tell you that St. Patrick’s Day is celebrated in many parts of the world with food, festivities and the color green. Lots and lots of green. We are spending the evening with our family eating corned beef hash, potatoes and various other tasty dishes. And, of course, we are dressed in green. Since this is Olivia’s first St. Patrick’s Day, I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to buy an outfit specific to the event. I came across several adorable onesies in my search but this one stood out above the rest. img_5898I am one-half Chinese and the other half is a mix of Scotch, Irish, Dutch and English. I’m told it’s mostly Irish so I usually tell people I’m Chinese and Irish. Luke is a similar mix, sans Chinese, which makes our adorable daughter one-fourth Chinese and some mix of Irish. We’ll go with Irish-ish.

Irish or not, wishing everyone a safe and happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Leave a Reply

