A Small Glimpse of God

A few weeks ago (yes, Olivia is old enough that I can now refer to my time with her in weeks) I was sitting in my rocking chair feeding her when I started crying. Luke happened to walk by just at that time and hurried over to see what was wrong. Only nothing was wrong. Everything was perfect.

Sitting there, looking at Olivia, I suddenly realized being a mom gives you just the tiniest glimpse of God’s love for us. At only a few weeks old, I already love Olivia so intensely when she has done nothing to deserve it. If anything, she does things that should make me not love her – keeping me up at night, requiring I drop everything to attend to her needs as they arise, and then there’s the projectile poop and spit up. But the love I have for her, this imperfect human love, has nothing to do with what she does or doesn’t do. I just love her. And this is nothing compared to the unconditional love God has for us. A love so strong He sent his only Son to die for us that we may live. A love so intense it never fails though we do nothing to deserve it. In fact, like Olivia, we do so many things which make us undeserving. And yet His love continues without ceasing.

God uses so many examples throughout His Word to paint a picture of our relationship with Him. His role as the Father and our role as the bride of Christ, for example. For some time I have believed Satan attacks marriage  and families so he can weaken our understanding of these relationships. If our human experiences in marriage and family are broken then it can distort our view of what it means to have a loving Father in God or to submit as the bride of Christ. I now believe Satan also belittles the value of children for this same reason. Because being a mom, being a parent, really does give you a small glimpse of God. And oh how thankful I am for His unfailing love.

2 thoughts on “A Small Glimpse of God

  1. I seldom leave comments, however i did a few searching and wound
    up here A Small Glimpse of God – Robyn with a "Y".
    And I actually do have a couple of questions for you if you don’t mind.
    Is it only me or does it look like a few of these comments come across as if they are left by brain dead people?

    😛 And, if you are posting at additional social sites, I would like to follow everything
    new you have to post. Could you list of every one of all your community pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    Like

Leave a Reply

