Yes, it’s Delicious. And Yes, it’s Vegan. 

Yes, it’s Delicious. And Yes, it’s Vegan. 

I really don’t mean to offend anyone when I say this, but normally when I hear something is vegan I assume it’s a not-as-good alternative to the real thing. Well this sweet potato casserole breaks that theory. 

Luke and I spent Thanksgiving with the folks from our bible study and I was assigned sweet potato casseroles. I’m not a marshmallow fan so I knew that was an ingredient I was crossing off the grocery list but I also wanted to find a way to make it dairy-free so Luke could enjoy it. After searching online I came across a dairy- and gluten-free recipe from Meaningful Eats. As I started making it, I realized with just a few small changes I could make it vegan as well.

Given my own immediate reaction to vegan dishes I decided not to tell anyone at dinner. I don’t think they could even tell the difference! Someone actually said, “When you make a sweet potato casserole properly like this one…” So lay aside any preconceived vegan notions you may have and give this recipe a try.

You can find this recipe and more on my Plan To Eat.

Ingredients

  • 3-4 large sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 2/3 cup of coconut milk
  • 1/3 cup of maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup of coconut oil
  • 1 tsp of vanilla
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp of nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp of fine salt
  • 1 cup of chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup of gluten-free flour
  • 1/2 cup of light brown sugar, (or coconut sugar)
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 1/2 tsp of vanilla
  • 1/4 cup of coconut oil, in solid form
  • 1 TB of granulated sugar, optional

Directions

  1. Place the sweet potatoes (peeled and chopped) in a large pot and cover with cold water. Bring to a boil and reduce to simmer. Simmer until the sweet potatoes are fork tender, about 15-20 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9″ x 11″ casserole pan. In a bowl, combine the walnuts, flour, brown sugar, salt, 1/2 tsp vanilla and granulated sugar (optional). Cut in the oil with a fork until the mixture is sandy with pea-sized chunks. Set aside.
  3. When done cooking, drain the sweet potatoes. Mix the sweet potatoes in a food processor or with a hand mixer until smooth and creamy. Measure out 3-4 cups of the mashed sweet potatoes. Any extras make a yummy snack for later!
  4. Add the coconut milk, maple syrup, oil, 1 tsp vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt. Whip or stir to combine.
  5. Spoon the sweet potatoes into the prepared casserole pan and top with the walnut mixture. Bake for 25-30 minutes, until the top is golden and the sweet potatoes are bubbling. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

