Crockpot Indian Curry

Luke and I love curry dishes and I make Thai curries pretty regularly. Yet despite several  attempts, I haven’t been able to master an Indian curry. The flavor would be there but not the consistency. When I found this recipe online I had to give it a go. Success! It is delicious and fairly easy to make. The most complicated part was cutting all of the veggies. 

When I find a new recipe, it typically has to meet three criteria in order for me to try it:

  1. Less than 15 ingredients.
  2. Doesn’t require me to purchase an ingredient I won’t use in any other dish.
  3. Is dairy free or can be made dairy free.

This recipe almost didn’t make the cut because it didn’t meet the second requirement. It called for garam masala which is a spice I don’t currently have in my spice cabinet. I’m also hesitant to buy new spices when we are moving in just over 30 days. However, garam masala is actually a combination of 7 spices I did have so I simply mixed those together to create the tablespoon I needed. Well technically I only had 6 of the 7 (I was missing cardamom) and it turned out fine! So if that is the only reason you aren’t trying this, just make your own garam masala. I’ll probably do this every time rather than buying it.

Ingredients

  • 2 lb of boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into cubes
  • 5 large carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1 medium onion, peeled and quartered
  • 2 cloves of garlic, peeled
  • 1 red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 (5 oz ) can of tomato paste
  • 1 (14 oz) can of coconut milk
  • 1 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 1 TB of curry powder
  • 1 TB of garam masala
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and chopped
  • 1 TB of cornstarch
  • Cilantro for garnish (optional)

Directions

  1. Place the chicken and carrots on the bottom of slow cooker. If you are worried about the sauce sticking, grease it with cooking oil first.
  2. Place the rest of the ingredients (except corn starch) in a food processor or blender and process together until mixture is mostly smooth. If your food processor is too small to hold everything, process everything but the coconut milk. Transfer mixture to a medium bowl then mix in the coconut milk.
  3. Pour the sauce over the chicken and carrots and mix well. Cover and cook on low for 6 hours.
  4. Before serving, sprinkle cornstarch into crockpot and stir to combine. This will thicken up the sauce. Add more if you want it thicker. When the sauce is to your desired thickness, turn slow cooker to warm setting until ready to serve.
  5. Serve over rice, with Naan (or tortillas) and garnish with cilantro if desired.
Leave a Reply

