Grandma’s Oatmeal Cookies

I am so excited! My Grandma always made the best oatmeal cookies. Now don’t scoff. These are really delicious and this is coming from someone who doesn’t like other oatmeal cookies. She passed the recipe down to my mom who also gave it to me. And although my Grandma passed away when I was young and I didn’t have the privilege of getting to know her very well, I am quite familiar with her cookies. I have such fond memories of baking these with my mom and they served as a comfort when I moved to Hawaii. My best friend and I used to make them at least twice a month. She called them “mookies” because the consistency reminded her of a muffin top. They are fluffy, soft and not too sweet which means you can easily eat several of them. (Although maybe that isn’t a good thing.)

Of course nothing is perfect and these cookies have one problem. They are packed full of butter and milk which makes them very Luke-unfriendly. Thus, I went from making them twice a month to twice in the last three years. I just don’t keep butter in the house or see the point of making something I have to eat alone. And let’s be honest, I don’t need to eat a whole batch of cookies.

About a month ago I was craving Grandma’s oatmeal cookies and decided to find a way to make them dairy free. Four batches later and I sounded like one of the three little bears – too chalky, too crunchy, too flat. I was so disappointed. Two days ago a friend came over and we decided to attempt a recipe I found online for Apple Cinnamon Breakfast Cookies. While I didn’t love the way they tasted, the consistency was really similar to my Grandma’s. I wrote down both recipes side by side to compare. A light went on and last night I successfully recreated Grandma’s oatmeal cookie recipe without dairy! The recipe is below or you can find it in my Plan To Eat.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup of cooking oil
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 1 cup of apple sauce, unsweetened
  • 1 tsp of vanilla
  • 1 cup of flour
  • 1 tsp of baking powder
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1/2 of tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 of tsp salt
  • 1 cup of oatmeal

Directions

  • Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.In a medium bowl, mix wet ingredients (oil, sugar, apple sauce and vanilla).
  • In a separate bowl, mix remaining ingredients.
  • Mix all ingredients together slowly. Batter should be very thick. If it’s too wet, add more oatmeal.
  • Using a spoon, place small scoops onto a lined cookie sheet. I recommend using Reynolds Non-Stick Foil.
  • Bake for 15-20 minutes.
  • Let cool and serve.
2 thoughts on “Grandma’s Oatmeal Cookies

Leave a Reply

