Through the Looking Glass

Most of the time I like Facebook memories that pop up in my news feed. Today I did not. It was from 2010 and I wish there had been a way to delete it as soon as it popped up. Instead I decided to scroll through all of 2010 on my timeline to find it. Talk about a trip down memory lane. I felt like I was staring at it all through a looking glass and reading the diary of a different person. Probably the oddest thing was seeing the words appear under my name as it is today. Robyn Gee Tucker, no, she didn’t write that. I almost didn’t recognize the girl who had, but I could remember that the words came from a heart filled with so much pain, anger and resentment. It was hard not to feel that again. Tears welled as I read through the various status updates, reliving the roller coaster for a brief moment. 

I am not ashamed of that girl but I am also glad I am no longer her. I am so thankful for a heavenly Father who patiently did a work in my life, gently forming me as clay in the Potter’s hands. I am thankful that despite my sinful heart He has blessed me with so much more than I could have ever imagined. I am eternally grateful for women who poured into my life during that season and showed me what it means to be a woman of grace. Oh I have so far to go to be the woman He has called me to be but I can also see how far I have come.

Leave a Reply

