And The Winner Is…

Last night Luke and I attended Pacific Edge Magazine’s Business Achievement Awards gala. Luke was a finalist in two categories including Young Professional of the Year (sorry ladies, he’s taken!) and I was a finalist in the Sales & Marketing Executive of the Year category. When the finalist list first came out I have to admit I was torn between being excited and a little jealous that Luke was in two categories. Just one of those reminders of how big of a sinner I am and how much giving into satan can ruin wonderful moments. Fortunately the repenting was quickly followed by sheer joy for both of us.

Upon examining the four other people in my category I quickly decided being a finalist was reason enough to celebrate and resigned myself to the fact that I wouldn’t be winning. The finalists were quite impressive and I was happy just to be listed amongst such talent. When they called my name as the winner I was floored! I can’t remember what I yelled but it was something along the lines of, “You have got to be kidding!”

I am incredibly humbled to have received this professional recognition and so very thankful for everyone who came out to support and celebrate with us. I am still shocked to have been selected! Sitting there next to my husband with all my lei cut open* reminded me that the role I am most thankful for is that of wife and (soon-to-be) mother. While there may not be any awards for best wife or mom of the year I am looking forward to this new adventure and already asking the Lord to prepare my heart for what life looks like once Baby T joins our family. Talk about exploring work/life balance in a whole new way!

*In the Hawaiian culture you wear your lei open when hapai (pregnant)

 

One thought on “And The Winner Is…

Leave a Reply

