Ginger Tea For The Win!

Ginger tea for the win! When I first discovered homemade ginger lemon tea (water) I was seven weeks pregnant and resigning myself to the fact that a certain level of nausea was to be my life for the next five weeks. I was so thankful that I wasn’t throwing up, but my version of morning sickness was feeling nauseated 75% of the time. It was like I was reading in the car on a winding road minus the car, book and road.

A friend recommended ginger so I thought I would give it a try. I don’t know if it was a placebo or the tea really worked but I felt so much better after drinking it! If you are feeling nauseated, whether from pregnancy or you really were reading in the car on a winding road, give this a try. You can also find this recipe on my Plan To Eat.

Ingredients

  • 2″ of fresh ginger root
  • 2-3 cups of water
  • 1/4 lemon
  • honey (optional)

Directions

  1. Wash, peel and chop the ginger into small pieces. TIP: If you’re having issues peeling the ginger, try using a spoon. It’s so easy and helps you get into those tight, nobby areas.
  2. Combine ginger and water in a pot on the stove and bring to boil*.
  3. Strain into a cup and add lemon juice and honey (optional).
  4. Enjoy!

*If you want an iced version, add all the ingredients to a pitcher and place in the refrigerator overnight.

Leave a Reply

