NOLA 

I thought for sure I’d be blogging up a storm while here in New Orleans but when you haven’t seen your best friend in a year, being on a computer is the last thing you want to be doing. I’m traveling for work but my conference didn’t start until Monday and since she had the weekend off she decided to make the five hour trek over to see me. 

I’ve only been here a few days and I’ll admit, it wouldn’t be my first choice for a vacation. However, the food, architecture and history are pretty amazing. I’ve basically consumed my way through the city: cauliflower soup at La Petit Grocery, beignets at Cafe du Monde, quail and soufflé from Commander’s Palace, Grandmother’s Cheeseburger Soup at Brick & Spoon, and Bananas Foster from Brennan’s, the original creator of the delicious dessert. In between meals we managed to do a walking tour through the Garden District (in the rain of course!) which I highly recommend. Our guide took us through a cemetery and taught us a ton about the history and architecture in that area. We even saw homes belonging to numerous famous people including Anne Rice and the Manning family. While I’m not one for night life, we did visit the Frenchmen Art Market where we found some fun jewelry and a telephone booth in dire need of a photo shoot. We obliged of course.

More than anything, it’s always great to catch up with a friend. My only regret – we forgot to wear our “friend soulmate” shirts. Now it’s back to work for both of us. Just a few more days and I’ll be on a plane headed for home. I’ll admit, I’m missing Hawaii just a little.

Leave a Reply

