Feeling Crafty

I love having a wreath for every season. When I moved in with Luke after getting married I promptly started working on something to hang next to the door. Within the first year or so I had one for spring, fall and Christmas. For the last two summers I have perused Pinterest for the perfect patriotic wreath and just hadn’t found anything I absolutely loved. I’ve seen plenty of options at Target and TJMaxx but I really like to make things myself. Today I was feeling especially crafty and with Memorial Day right around the corner (as in tomorrow!) I decided it was time to just bite the bullet and make something. I opted for a welcome sign.

I knew I wanted a vintage style so I selected darker shades of red and blue. To achieve the aged look of the sign I used an off white color and mixed in a bit of gray to create the streaked effect. For the letters, I originally wanted stencils but they were $12! I decided to just paint it by hand. If you are interested in doing something similar, I’ve included the supplies list below.

In general, I don’t consider myself a very creative person and I usually need to look at something else for inspiration when crafting. This is one of the first times I went rogue and I really like the way it came out. But no craft project is ever perfect and it often takes longer than you expected. I spent quite a while getting the “welcome” sketched out just as I wanted it. I was so proud of how it looked and then discovered I had written it upside down…oops! Back to the drawing board, literally.

 

Supplies

Leave a Reply

