Thank you, Facebook.

About a week ago I was trying to remember when something happened so I was going though my 2010 Facebook feed. Yes, 2010. I was only a few posts in when I decided I couldn’t take it any more. The stuff I used to post! It’s not what you are thinking, no bad words and nothing truly inappropriate but you could feel the anger, pain and bitterness seething from the screen. It was like Facebook preserved a scary portion of my heart and froze it forever for the world to see. I wanted to delete it all. (How long would that take?) That just isn’t who I am anymore! But then I realized I was thankful for the reminder of how far the Lord has brought me. 2010 was the darkest, lowest part of my life and only through the redemptive grace of God am I free from that. My life now, and who I am today by His grace, looks nothing like that girl. He has changed me and the glory can only go to Him.

This also got me thinking about what we use Facebook for. In 2010 I used it as my personal therapist, a venue for abusing the readers with my self-centered woes and emotional vomit.  Ephesians 4:29 says, “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” That applies also to social media. When we post, we should ask ourselves, “Does this edify? Is this beneficial? How will others feel after reading it?” I am not saying we should pretend life is perfect. We all certainly know it isn’t. And if you really need help, please reach out to someone. There is also something to be said about transparency. One can be transparent and vulnerable without being habitually pessimistic.

I am thankful to see where God has brought me. My life isn’t perfect; I am not perfect. But through God’s grace and mercy we can be more and more like Him every day. Thank you, Facebook, for this reminder. Thank  you.

 

Leave a Reply

