A Lasagna Lover’s Worst Nightmare

I love lasagna. It is by far my favorite meal and actually one of the first things I ever learned how to bake from scratch. I have really special memories of making lasagna with my mom and it was always one of those go-to comfort foods. I’m also a lasagna traditionalist. I’m just not a fan of all of these green, veggie lasagna variations. I want red sauce, meet, noodles and cheese. (Okay fine, you can sneak some veggies in the sauce but I better not see them!)

Enter a lasagna lover’s worst nightmare. I go and marry a man who is highly lactose intolerant and lasagna is pretty much the epitome of what he cannot eat. At least it was until I discovered this lovely little recipe. I substituted the mozzarella with sheep cheese and the ricotta with goat. Whallah! It tastes even better than a traditional lasagna (slightly sweeter) but is completely Luke friendly. Give it a whirl! The recipe is also in my Plan To Eat.

Ingredients

  • lasagna noodles
  • 1 package of ground turkey or beef
  • 1 can of pasta sauce
  • 1 zucchini, diced
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 6-10 mushrooms, diced
  • 6 ounces of goat cheese
  • 4 cups of manchego cheese, grated

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
  2. In a pan, brown ground turkey or beef.
  3. Combine meet, pasta sauce, zucchini, red bell pepper and mushroom. Heat until veggies are soft.
  4. Place a layer of noodles in a pan.
  5. Cover with goat cheese.
  6. Sprinkle sauce combination over the goat cheese.
  7. Add a layer of sheep cheese.
  8. Repeat layers until pan is full (I do 4) and you have used all of the ingredients.
  9. Bake for 45 minutes and serve warm.

 

One thought on “A Lasagna Lover’s Worst Nightmare

Leave a Reply

