Not Really Goodbye

On Sunday, 34 of us gathered for high tea at the Kahala Hotel & Resort to bid farewell to two friends who have had a huge impact in my life. Stacy & Hope Cassidy, along with the rest of their family will be leaving Hawaii for a new mission field. These people have given sacrificially of their time, heart, resources and love to every person who has walked through their front door. They epitomize what it means to be the hands and feet of Christ and to live with Him at the center of all they do.

A big part of me hasn’t quite processed that they are leaving. Part of that is because I do not believe this is really goodbye. When you share a common faith you are connected at heart through prayer; oceans do nothing to temper the encouraging words of a friend in Christ. (Technology helps also!) Stacy has been such an influential figure in my life. She is a friend, role model and mentor. She has challenged me to be more like God, admonished me when necessary and extended grace. Lots and lots of grace. I came to her home in September 2010 at the lowest point in my life. I was broken and hurting and she gently guided me to the feet of our Lord. So much of who I am today is because of her.

When I think of this family, Isaiah 52:7 comes to mind:

How lovely on the mountains are the feet of him who brings good news, who announces peace and brings good news of happiness, who announces salvation, and says to Zion, “Your God reigns!”

Looking at these photos from our tea I realize how blessed I am to be surrounded by people who earnestly strive to understand God’s holiness. I love that we unashamedly came together to pray in the middle of the hotel.  This is what life is all about.

 

Leave a Reply

