What Really Matters

What Really Matters

I had the very wonderful opportunity to spend two evenings with Tracy Gary, a philanthropic advisor, author, nonprofit donor, founder of 24 non-profits and part of Women Moving Millions. (Well if that isn’t humbling.) Tonight she said two things that really resonated in my mind.

  1. We are activists, activists who see a wrong and must do all we can to turn it into a right.
  2. We are here for a higher purpose and that higher purpose is to make a difference in the lives of those in need.

I don’t know if this woman knows the Lord but I do know that both of those things echoed in my heart. Isn’t that what we are called to do as Christians? A few moments later I was introduced to Jessica Munoz, president of Ho`ola Na Pua, a non-profit organization dedicated to meeting the needs of underage female sex trafficking victims. Ho`ola Na Pua means “new life for our children” and as I listened to her talk about the overwhelming problem and the countless number of children in need of healing my heart ached in a way I cannot explain with words. Isn’t this why God has placed us here? Isn’t this what really matters? To defend the fatherless and shine with his light in the darkness? How can I be so silent when I  have a voice to speak?

I drove home in tears. I wept in a way I haven’t wept in a long time. Suddenly the things in my life I felt were important seemed a whole lot smaller. I live an ordinary life with ordinary things and I want to do the extraordinary for Him. I pray that God would use my  life to make a difference; that he would use my voice in a very loud way.

 

Leave a Reply

