A Day in Malaysia

A Day in Malaysia

Today I visited my 10th country! I have now been to Nicaragua, Honduras, Canada, Haiti, Germany, France, Italy, Japan, Singapore and Malaysia. Of course I am not counting the United States since I was born there. I have to admit, the more I travel the more I love it. When we were first planning our trip we tossed around the idea of also visiting Indonesia but it didn’t look like it was going to happen and our time was quickly drawing to a close. I’ll admit, I was a little bummed. But thanks to travel aficionados Ed and Ellyn and my loving husband we managed to pull off a day trip to Malaysia.

Johor Bahru, a city in Malaysia, is just a hop, skip and jump away from Singapore. (Well, technically a tram, bus and taxi away but you get the picture.) We left around 9 a.m. this morning and arrived in time for an early lunch. I had chilli chicken (yes, with two “L’s”) which was amazing! From there we visited My Kompong Kompong where we saw a demonstration on molding pewter, enjoyed a cultural dance performance and even got to try our hand at our own batik painting. Visiting My Kompong Kompong was free and the cost to paint your own batik was only RM20 (about $4.75). Of course the gift shop is not free and one just cannot leave without an item or two.

I am so thankful to Ed and Ellyn for going with us to Malaysia. There aren’t many parents I know who would haul their kids to another country at the last minute. Of course, they are quite the travelers! You can read more about their adventures at www.nomadicdragon.com.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

