Hello Vacation! 

Hello Vacation! 

After a very busy holiday season followed all to quickly by several more events at work, Luke and I are quite excited to finally be on vacation. Our goal, at least for now, is to do an international trip a year, so here we are! Say hello to Japan and Singapore.

I was actually a little nervous about this trip as it will be my first time traveling to a country where I don’t speak at least a little of the native language. I did manage to learn a few basic phrases (Hello. Excuse me. Do you speak English?) but that’s about it.  However, we seem to be managing okay thus far. It did take us way too long to find our hotel and we may have gotten on a bus heading the wrong direction. It’s all part of the adventure!

Today was actually busier than we thought it would be. We walked through a bamboo grove in the Arashiyama area of Kyoto, visited the Kinkakuji Temple and stopped by the Kyoto Imperial Park. Luke bought coffee from a vending machine for ¥80 (about $.70) and also had this delicious little strawberry mochi dessert. And if I don’t share this small fact Luke will have my head – I rode a city bus for this first time. Yes, I’ve been on a school and charter bus but I cannot recall ever catching a public bus. (If someone remembers me doing this please correct me!) I guess there’s a first time for everything!

 

Leave a Reply

