Crying Over Spilled (Coconut) Milk

I remember going on a missions trip in high school to Nicaragua. The overarching theme was “Flow” meaning no matter how much we plan, we have to go with the flow because things will change. I try to be that way with every day life but the truth of the matter is I like to plan. While I know last minute things happen, I really prefer for those last minute things to give me at least a day’s notice.

Yesterday was one of those days where several last minute things (good things!) resulted in a lot of rearranging and a fairly hectic afternoon. By the time we were in the car heading to our almost final destinations I was feeling pretty frazzled. So here we are, driving to take a meal to a friend who just had a baby and the broth from the Chicken Mulligatawny starts to leak in the car. Well technically it leaked all over the waterproof bag I had placed it in which was a blessing. So we pull over to clean it up and, wait for it, cue the waterworks! Here I am on the side of the road literally crying over spilled coconut milk. Well technically it was a blend of coconut milk and chicken broth but that’s beside the point.

I am not sure what the moral of this story is other than the reminder that everything doesn’t have to be perfect and that’s okay. While I can make plans to make plans, not everything will always go according to said plans and that is also okay. God is in control and yes, I believe He cares even about my spilled Chicken Mulligatawny (which is quite delicious if you are looking for a new dish to add to your menu). And sometimes I think we all just need a good cry.

Of course everything turned out well in the end. Luke made it on time to his sailing and I got the meal (mostly in one peace and with a little less broth) to my friend. I also got to hold her adorable new baby while reading my bible which is exactly what I needed. While I didn’t make it to Costco and I still need to drop off items at Goodwill, that can wait until tomorrow. After all, there is always time in the day to do the things God wants me to do.

Leave a Reply

