Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Chicken Lettuce Wraps

When my friend Carrissa added a recipe for Slow Cooker Asian Chicken Lettuce Wraps to her Plan To Eat I was itching to try it. However, I hate buying ground chicken when I always have a freezer full of chicken breasts and thighs from Costco and both Hoisen Sauce and Soy Sauce are on Luke’s no-eat list due to the yeast content. So, like most of the things I make these days, I made a few changes resulting in a Tucker-friendly yet tasty meal. Luke actually said they were the best lettuce wraps he’s ever had.

Rather than using soy sauce, I opted for Bragg’s Liquid Aminos. Don’t let the name freak you out. It tastes just like soy sauce but is gluten free and not fermented which means it doesn’t contain yeast. I also decided to forego the Hoisen sauce altogether and simply looked up the ingredients and used things already found in my kitchen (honey, liquid aminos, crushed red pepper and sesame oil and chicken broth) as alternatives.

Finally, I was too cheap to go out and buy the ground chicken. Instead, I used shredded chicken breast meat. I simply cooked the chicken breasts in the crockpot on high for 3 hours and then shredded the meat. If that sounds like too much work, you can always buy the ground chicken or get a rotisserie chicken that is already cooked and pull the meat off.

If you’re already a Plan to Eat user, feel free to snag my version of the Chicken Lettuce Wraps there. Or you can just save the instructions below. Happy cooking!

 

Ingredients

  • 3 chicken breasts (or ground chicken)
  • 4 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 red bell pepper, cored and finely chopped
  • 1 (8-ounce) can sliced water chestnuts, rinsed and chopped
  • 4 mushrooms, diced
  • 1 bunch of green onions, sliced thin
  • 1/2 cup of soy sauce or Bragg’s Liquid Aminos
  • 1/4 cup of chicken broth
  • 4 tsp sesame oil
  • 2 tsp crushed red pepper
  • 2 TB honey
  • 2 heads of green leaf lettuce

Directions

  1. Place chicken in a crock pot and cook on high for 3 hours.
  2. Remove and shred. Empty all liquids from the crockpot and return the chicken.
  3. Add bell pepper, garlic, water chestnuts, green onions and mushrooms.
  4. Mix sesame oil, soy sauce (or liquid aminos), crushed red pepper, honey and chicken broth. Pour over contents and stir to combine. Cover and cook on low for 1 hour.*
  5. Separate and wash lettuce leaves. Make sure to dry them before serving.
  6. Add chicken mixture to the lettuce leaves and serve.

*I did this all in the crockpot but you can very easily cook it on the stove top in less than 30 minutes once the chicken is already cooked. If you opt for ground chicken, brown it on the stove top and then throw in all the other ingredients.

 

5 thoughts on “Chicken Lettuce Wraps

  1. I made this before and everyone loved it. I’m making it again but discovered it says to add chicken broth, but the ingredient list doesn’t contain broth. I don’t remember adding brith before but didn’t notice the error either. How much brith should I use? Thx!

    Like

      1. Great again! I added about 1/4-1/2 cup of vegetable broth. It is now a family favorite. I also use a coconut amino that is much lower in sodium and very tasty, so I like that. Great recipe, thank you!

        Like

Leave a Reply

