Disconnecting to Connect

Disconnecting to Connect

Last year I deleted the Facebook app from my phone. I was on there so much and the incessant notifications were overwhelming. But it wasn’t long before I was logging into the browser to see what I was missing. But that’s different, right?

A few days ago I cleared the history and saved passwords on my phone so when I went to check Facebook in the browser I realized I needed to enter my information. That was enough to get me to pause and think for a moment. I suddenly realized how addicted I am to not just social media but my phone in general. It’s almost become a crutch. Waiting at the doctor? Pull out the phone. Sitting at a light? Check Facebook. A few minutes in between commitments? Let’s see if I have an email. Very guilty confession, I’ve even gotten distracted in the middle of reading my bible and found myself reading more status updates than scripture.

I decided I needed to stop and Facebook was a good place to start. No, I am not deleting my account but I am going to restrict it to my computer. It’s only been a few days and I must have reached for my phone a dozen times. It’s like I don’t know what to do if I don’t have something to stare at during down time. Since when did I become so dependent? It’s like a drug and I need to wean myself off.

I hope less time on Facebook means more time doing other things. Today Luke and I went and played tennis with friends for example. Sometimes you have to disconnect a little to connect.

Leave a Reply

