Christmas Eve Cinnamon Rolls 

Christmas Eve Cinnamon Rolls 

It’s hard to believe Christmas is tomorrow! The year has flown by. I had an early morning today with TV interviews. Retail (and news!) never sleeps. Luke also had an early morning. He spent the day golfing with the boys. I think we all know who got the better end of that stick. Actually, I’ve been in retail for so long I’m not really sure what I’d do if I didn’t have to work. It’s just become a part of the Holiday tradition.

One Christmas tradition that I hold dear to heart is homemade cinnamon rolls. The hubby may not be able to eat them but I sure can! And while I would normally make every attempt to adjust a food and make it Luke friendly, some recipes just aren’t meant to be changed.

Growing up we always made cinnamon rolls on Christmas Eve and ate them first thing Christmas morning. Since moving to Hawaii I’ve only made them once or twice and I’ve decided to ressurect the tradition. It ended up being more work than I remember but completely worth it. Of course it might have helped if I didn’t try to use a questionably old package of yeast. Either way, they came out exactly as I remember them! Thanks for the great recipe mama!

If you’d like to take a go at making them yourself the recipe is below.

     

  
 

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup of milk
  •  1 1/4 tsp salt
  • 6 TB butter
  • 2/3 cup warm water
  • 3 TB sugar
  • 1 3-pack of yeast
  • 3 eggs
  • 6 cups of flour
  • Sugar and cinnamon

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Scald milk.
  3. Add in sugar, salt and butter. Cool to lukewarm. 
  4. In another bowl, combine water, sugar and yeast.
  5. Combine mixtures.
  6. Beat the eggs and add everything together.
  7. Mix in the flour slowly.
  8. Knead and let rise.
  9. Roll out the dough into a rectangle and sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar.
  10. Starting at one of the short ends, roll the dough carefully.
  11. Cut and place in a greased pan.
  12. Cover and let rise before baking for 15-20 minutes.
  13. If you want to create a frosting, mix a bit of powdered sugar with water or milk.
Leave a Reply

