Butternut Squash & Lentil Soup

Butternut Squash & Lentil Soup

In the last year I’ve really broadened my cooking horizons. I’ve cooked with ingredients I’d never even heard of and certainly never purchased before. Several of them I actually had to google an image of so I knew what to look for in the store.

Butternut squash was one of those things. Okay, I’d heard of it but I’d never actually cooked it. I wasn’t even quite sure what it looked like when it wasn’t in a soup. But my curiosity was peaked after enjoying two different variations of a butternut squash soup made by friends. When I found this recipe on Plan To Eat I had to try it.

My favorite recipes are those that are super yummy and easy to make. This one was not at all easy. It was really yummy though and completely worth the effort!

Ingredients

  • 1 butternut squash, about 1.5-2lb
  • 2 TB of olive oil
  • 1 onion
  • 1 leek
  • 1 jalapeño pepper
  • 1 stalk of celery
  • 1 small carrot
  • 2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 4 cups of chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup lentils
  • 3 TB of coconut milk

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Cut the squash in half lengthwise and scoop out the seeds and stringy center. Oil each half gently with 1 tablespoon of olive oil, place face down on a cookie sheet and bake until tender (about 40 minutes). If it seems like it’s taking too long to cook, add some water to the pan.
  2. Meanwhile, dice all your veggies. I threw them in a blender to make things easier.
  3. Heat a soup pot over medium heat. Add a tablespoon of olive oil, onion, celery, carrot, leek, pepper, curry powder and ginger. Stir regularly and sweat for about 10 minutes or until veggies soften a bit.
  4. Add stock and bring to a simmer.
  5. Add lentils and stir regularly at a simmer for 15 minutes or until the squash is ready.
  6. When squash is tender, scoop out and gently mash. You may want to put this in a blender also.
  7. Stir into the soup.
  8. Add the coconut milk into the soup until well incorporated.
  9. Taste and correct for seasoning then serve. Garnish with cilantro if desired.
Leave a Reply

