Anything but the Curry!

Meals flavored with curry appear regularly on our dinner table. I have a ton of recipes that I love to make, all of which require curry powder. You can imagine my distress tonight when I picked up my Costco size curry powder and discovered black pepper as an ingredient. No! Anything but the curry! (For those of you who haven’t been following our 90 day allergy cleanse, black pepper is on the list of things my husband cannot eat.)

I was actually quite surprised how many other spices are in curry powder. I guess I always assumed it just came from a curry plant. As I stared at the rather lengthy list of spices I realized that I had almost all of them in my pantry. That’s when I decide to make my own.

I googled several different recipes and while there was some variation, they all contained turmeric, coriander and cumin. There wasn’t one recipe that jumped out at me so I blended them all to create my version of curry powder. I am happy to report the result was a success! I made chicken curry last night and it tasted exactly the same as when I used store-bought curry powder!

If you’re interested in giving it a shot, here are the spices I used. I’ve also included links to some yummy recipes I use curry powder in.

Curry Powder Recipe

  • 1 TB coriander
  • 1 TB cumin
  • 2 TB turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp cloves

Other Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

