You’re Allergic to What?

You’re Allergic to What?

As many of you know, my husband has a few allergies. We’ve been stabbing in the dark trying to cut things out that trigger reactions but he has continued to have issues. We finally decided he should visit a naturopathic doctor and get an allergy test. Well the results are in! He is officially allergic to the following:

  • Beans
    • Green
    • Kidney
    • Lima
    • Mung
    • Pinto
    • Yellow Wax
  • Canola Oil
  • Cashew Nuts
  • Cow’s Milk (Whey)
  • Egg
  • Pepper
  • Sunflower
  • Yeast
    • Baker’s
    • Brewer’s

So what does that mean? Well no more sunflower seeds at baseball games for one. It also means I have to make some major changes to my cooking. Most of the beans I don’t use and I am accustomed to cutting out the milk. The real kicker is the yeast. I know what you may be thinking, the only thing with yeast is bread, right? Nope! Turns out yeast is hidden in a million things including vinegar and anything with vinegar (mustard, ketchup, most salad dressings, etc.), pickled vegetables, many canned items, and soy sauce. The last one will be the hardest. I cook stir fry, fried rice, lo-mein, sesame chicken or some other asian dish at least once a month.

The good news is the doctor says if we cut out all of these things for 90 days he may be able to reintroduce some of them without a reaction. Let’s all pray those things are yeast, sunflower, kidney beans, eggs and pepper.

On one hand I am frustrated with having to make so many changes to meals. I am also anticipating how difficult it will be to eat out or go to a potluck. However, I’m excited for the challenge and eager to see his tummy feel better. Here’s to 90 days and counting!

3 thoughts on “You’re Allergic to What?

  1. Man! I feel for you and your husband. I was recently diagnosed with Sjogren’s Syndrome (autoimmune disorder) I have to modify food intake and the main one I had to eliminate was dairy =( I hope he will start feeling better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

