Gluten-free, Dairy-free Brownies

Gluten-free, Dairy-free Brownies

My husband and I have a lot of allergies between the two of us. We can’t do dairy, too much gluten, garlic, soy, peanuts or hazelnuts. The big offenders are dairy, gluten and peanuts so I try to cook gluten and dairy free. Meals really aren’t that hard (if you are looking for recipes, feel free to peruse my Plan To Eat collection) but I just haven’t found a lot of desserts that are really great. Most of them taste like they need, well, gluten. I try a few things here and there and finally give up and buy him sorbet. Again.

We use Pamela’s Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Pizza Crust when we make pizza at home so when I found the Chocolate Brownie Mix I figured I might as well try it. I made them tonight and they are delicious! I followed the dairy-free option with olive oil versus butter and added an extra 1/8 of a cup of water to make them a little less fudge-like. I also sprinkled them with a bit of powdered sugar. They taste just like real brownies but not quite as sweet. Think dark chocolate versus regular chocolate and you’ll know what I mean.

If you are looking for an easy dessert option that is friendly for the non-dairy, non-gluten eaters, this is the one! Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

