God’s Not Dead

A few nights ago I watched God’s Not Dead for the first time. If you have not seen it, I highly recommend watching it. The main story line is about a college student named Josh who refuses to admit God does not exist and goes to bat with his philosophy professor. The more I thought about the movie the more I knew I would have responded the same. I would die before I would deny Jesus Christ or my faith in Him. Of that I have complete confidence and I think many of you would say the same. But in reality, I am rarely (if ever) faced with a situation where I am being asked to openly deny my God. So that’s when I started thinking. If Josh hasn’t been forced to take a stand, would he have shared Christ with anyone in that class? Would he have sat down with Martin, the foreign exchange student who accepted Christ at the end, if he hadn’t been called out? I don’t know what the answer would have been for Josh but substitute Josh with Robyn and the answer would be no. Yes, I would have taken a stand when challenged, but I also would have happily gone through class without saying a word about Jesus to anyone. How do I know that? Because I do it every day. I am surrounded by people who do not know the Lord and I say nothing. Sure, they know I am a Christian but we are content to leave it at that. And that is how the movie challenged me. I cannot wait for a philosophy professor to force me to take a stand. I need to share what I believe with those God has placed in my life regardless of how awkward, uncomfortable or strange that may be.

God’s not dead and the world needs to know.

Leave a Reply

