The Girl Whose Face is Everywhere 

I started noticing her face a few years ago. It seemed she was everywhere and, unfortunately, it appears the exposure has only grown exponentially with time. Or maybe I just notice it more. Either way, if you live in Hawaii or any other place where ads featuring an ethnically-ambiguous-but-obviously-somewhat-Asian face is ideal then I’m sure you’ve seen her too. She’s the stock model who’s everywhere.

Stock photography is a collection of available photos used to fulfill  creative needs in lieu of hiring a photographer, often for a lower cost. Today, stock images can be found, purchased and delivered online. What I don’t understand is why a company would want to use a stock model who has been so overexposed.

It’s almost become a joke. Luke loves to point her out to me when he sees her. “Am I the only one who thinks it’s crazy that she is everywhere?” I asked. Turns out I’m not. Last night I googled “Asian stock model” only to discover there are Facebook accounts, fan pages and YouTube videos dedicated to the face of Rebecca Ariane Givens. It’s like Where’s Waldo? for adults.

The more I think about it, the more I have to give her kudos for her entrepreneurial expertise. She’s managed to become one of the most popular stock models ever. From what I’ve heard, she produces a staggering 200 photos per month! And if you didn’t notice her face all around you before, I am sure you will now. After all, she’s the girl whose face is everywhere.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

