The Cleanse – Day 2

Confession, I ate a fig bar and tortilla chips. In fact, I’m eating the latter right now. I literally woke up this morning and couldn’t stop gagging because I was so hungry. TMI (too much information), I know. I’m not a quitter so I’m sticking this out but let me tell you, juice cleanses are not for me. I love juicing but I need solid food. There is a reason they recommend everything in moderation.

However, for the times you may consider adding juice to a meal, here are the recipes we tried.

Breakfast: Carrot Juice

  • 3 Carrots
  • 2 Apples
  • 1 inch Ginger Root

Not my favorite. But then again, I was gagging this morning. 

Snack #1: Green Cleaner

  • 1⁄2 head romaine lettuce
  • 2 celery stalks
  • 1⁄2 cucumber
  • 1 apple Granny Smith
  • 2 stalks kale
  • 1 handful parsley
  • 1 lemon

So good!!! I would definitely make this again. If you like tart lemonade you will like this. 

Lunch: Spicy Berry Pick Me Up

  • 2 Cups strawberries
  • 1 Cup raspberries
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • 2 Handfuls cilantro

This was okay. We kind of ate most of the raspberries during the pre-cleanse days and didn’t have the amount called for in the recipe. OOPS!

Snack #2: Green Machine

  • 4 Kale Leaves
  • 2 Apples
  • 2 Cups Spinach
  • 1⁄2 Cucumber
  • 2 Celery Stalks
  • 1 Carrot
  • 1 inch Ginger Root

It smells like grass. Luke said it wasn’t as bad as yesterday’s Snack #2 but I don’t believe him and have yet to drink it. 

Dinner: Sunset Passion

  • 1/2 Beet
  • 1 Cucumber
  • 1 Carrot
  • 1 Apple Granny Smith
  • 4 Kale Leaves
  • 1⁄2 Lemon
  • 1⁄2 Lime

The original recipe called for one beet but I cut it in half after yesterday’s adventure. It wasn’t HALF bad. Get it? Half? (Actually it was pretty gross. I do not like beets.) 

Leave a Reply

