Juice Cleanse Confessions

Juice Cleanse Confessions

Day one of our juice cleanse. Technically it should have started tomorrow but we were more than ready to move past the pre-cleanse days. Confession, I ate a fig bar on Sunday. And some granola. In my defense, I thought I was starving.

The first pre-cleanse day was really hard. We were out and about which resulted in a serious lack of H2O intake. I also think the sudden severance of caffeine didn’t help. We both had terrible headaches. Luke’s was worse than mine since he drinks significantly more caffeine than I do on a regular basis. He’s  actually had a headache all three days. If you are a heavy coffee drinker I recommend weaning yourself off before you do this.

I personally didn’t think the first day of actual juicing was bad at all! (Except maybe Snack #2, details below.) Here’s a quick look at the recipes we chose and our very candid opinions of them!

Hot Water with Lemon

Morning Drink: Jolt Juice

  • 2 Apples
  • 1 Orange
  • 1 Cucumber
  • 1/2 Lemon
  • 4 Kale Leaves

A little too green for me but not bad! 

Snack #1: Mean Green

  • 1 Cucumber
  • 4 Celery Stalks
  • 2 Apples
  • 6-8 Kale Leaves
  • 1/2 Lemon
  • 1 inch Ginger Root

The lemon and ginger save the day! I would drink this again. 

Lunch: Lemon Ginger Zinger

  • 2 Apples
  • 2 Carrots
  • 1 inch Ginger Root
  • 1 Lemon

Not bad at all but be prepared for that bite of ginger. I’ve had this one before so I was ready for it. 

Snack #2: Citrus Inspired Green Juice

  • 6-8 Kale leaves
  • 8 Leaves Swiss Chard
  • 1 Cucumber
  • 2 Oranges

Never again. Close your eyes and imagine you just fell face first into a pile of grass and accidentally consumed some. 

Dinner: Ginger Beet

  • 1 Apple
  • 1 Beet
  • 1 Lemon
  • 1 inch Ginger Root
  • 3 Carrots

This wasn’t horrible but I would cut down on the beets if I made it again. Actually, I probably wouldn’t make it again if I had a choice. 

Herbal Tea

Leave a Reply

