Making Musubi 

Making Musubi 

My friend Melynda and I spent six glorious years together in Hawaii before she moved to England. We were catching up on FaceTime the other day and she was filling me in on her recent travels through Europe. Apparently part of the adventure included her husband eating musubi at an English train station. For those of you who may not know what that is, it’s basically spam and rice wrapped in nori (seaweed).

“Wait,” I said. “Where did you find musubi in England?” It turns out they made it. Of course I’ve never thought of making musubi when I can so easily buy it here in Hawaii. I do, after all, work right next to Shirokiya. But I was inspired. Today my hubby and I attempted our first go at making musubi. We had so much fun and it was actually quite easy!

So here is how we did it. There are also plenty of other recipes you can follow online. I’ve also discovered there is a musubi mold you can use as well but we just shaped the rice on our own.

Ingredients

  • Roasted Nori (seaweed)
  • 2 Cups of Rice
  • 1 Can of Spam
  • Furikake Seasoning

Directions

  1. Cook rice at a 1:1 ratio with water.
  2. Slice spam and fry in a pan.
  3. Cut the nori in half.
  4. Place a small amount of cooked rice on the nori about 1/3 of the way up. Shape it to the size of the spam so it stretches the width of the nori. The rice should be compact so it stays together. Hint: If you wet you’re fingers slightly the rice won’t stick while you shape it.
  5. Place spam on top of the rice.
  6. Add another layer of rice and shape as needed.
  7. Sprinkle with furikake.
  8. Roll the nori tightly around the spam and rice.
  9. Cut in half and place cut side up.
  10. Sprinkle with more furikake and  serve.
Leave a Reply

