Robin Williams

There were many heavy hearts yesterday as people around the world heard the news of Robin Williams’ passing. The fact that it appears to be suicide makes the death even more tragic. As I was getting ready for bed last night, I read the following Facebook post on a friend’s page:


When Christopher Reeve was in the hospital, awaiting a back surgery that had a fifty/fifty chance of killing him, a man burst into his room. He was wearing surgical scrubs, talking in a Russian accent, and said he was there to give a rectal exam. It was Robin Williams; the two men had been roommates together at Juilliard. Later Reeve said of his life-long friend:

“For the first time since the accident, I laughed. My old friend had helped me know that somehow I was going to be okay.”

That’s sort of what Robin Williams did for all of us.

10606015_748406191883906_6412522983515727238_n


I started thinking about Robin Williams’ squinting eyes and joyful smile in the many movies I have seen. He brought so much laughter into the lives of others and yet it appears he lacked true joy. So much so that he took his own life. Tears rolled down my face and I thought of his eternal existence. While we can all pray he had a relationship with Christ and is in heaven, the thought that he may not be breaks my heart. We, as believers, all have a responsibility to share the message of Christ, the source of true joy, with those around us. As my heart broke, I was truly convicted.

Leave a Reply

